Quality Matters Rubric

The Quality Matters Higher Education Rubric 6th edition (2018) consists of eight general standards and 42 specific standards used to evaluate the design of online and blended courses. Annotations explain the applications of the Standards and their inter-relationships. The Rubric has a scoring system used by the Review Team to determine whether a course meets Standards. Essential Standards (3-point Specific Review Standards) must be met during the review and an overall score of 85% of the points possible are required for a course to attain QM certification. To learn more about the Quality Matters rubric, you can review slides of a QM Rubric overview presentation.

General Standards

  1. The Course Overview and Introduction (9 standards)
  2. Learning Objectives (Competencies) (5 standards)
  3. Assessment and Measurement (5 standards)
  4. Instructional Materials (5 standards)
  5. Course Activities and Learner Interaction (4 standards)
  6. Course Technology (4 standards)
  7. Learner Support (4 standards)
  8. Accessibility and Usability (6  standards)

Using QM Standards for Course Review

  • Read the specific review standard
  • Read the annotation
  • Look for evidence in the course that the standard is met
  • Make a decision about whether the standard is met
  • Write a recommendation that will help the instructor make positive changes to the course

The Applying the Quality Rubric (APPQMR) workshop is QM’s flagship workshop on the QM rubric and the process of using it to review online and blended courses.